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 The Revenue Department assessed Armstrong World Industries, Inc. 

(“Taxpayer”) for 1993 and 1994 Alabama corporate income tax.  The Taxpayer 

appealed to the Administrative Law Division pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975, §40-

2A-7(b)(5)a.  Bruce Ely and Chris Grissom represented the Taxpayer.  Assistant 

Counsel Jeff Patterson represented the Department.  The case was submitted for 

decision on a joint stipulation of facts and briefs. 

ISSUE 

 The Department assessed the Taxpayer for the tax in issue outside of the 

general three year statute of limitations at Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-7(b)(2), but 

within the special six year 25 percent omission statute at Code of Ala. 1975, §40-

2A-7(b)(2)b.  The issue is whether the six year statute applies.  

FACTS 

 The Taxpayer timely filed its 1993 Alabama corporate income tax return on 

August 30, 1994.  It filed an amended 1993 return on January 15, 1996.  

 The Taxpayer timely filed its 1994 Alabama return on September 8, 1995. 

 

 The Department audited the 1993 and 1994 returns and adjusted both 

returns.  Specifically, the Department (1) reclassified as apportionable business 

income certain dividends reported by the Taxpayer as nonbusiness income; (2) 



substantially increased the nonbusiness interest expense reported on the 1994 

return; and (3) adjusted the property factor as reported on the 1994 return. 

 The Department entered a preliminary assessment for the additional tax due 

on July 31, 2000.  A final assessment was entered on January 18, 2001.  The 

Taxpayer timely appealed.  The Taxpayer does not contest the audit adjustments.  

Rather, as indicated, the only issue is whether the assessment was timely entered 

within the six year 25 percent omission statute. 

ANALYSIS 

 The Department is generally allowed three years to enter a preliminary 

assessment for additional tax due.  Section 40-2A-7(b)(2).  The Department is also 

authorized to assess tax within six years if a taxpayer omits from the taxable base 

on a return more than 25 percent of the taxable base that should have been reported 

on the return.  Section 40-2A-7(b)(2)b.  That statute currently reads as follows: 
A preliminary assessment may be entered within six years from the 
due date of the return or six years from the date the return is filed with 
the department, whichever is later, if the taxpayer omits from the 
taxable base an amount properly includable therein which is in excess 
of 25 percent of the amount of the taxable base stated in the return. 

 
 For purposes of this paragraph: 
 

1. The term “taxable base” means the gross 
income, gross proceeds from sales, gross receipts, 
capital employed, or other amounts on which the tax 
paid with the return is computed; and  

 
 

  2. In determining the amount omitted from 
the taxable base, there shall not be taken into account 
any amount which is omitted from the taxable base 
stated in the return if the amount is disclosed in the 
return, or in a statement attached to the return, in a 
manner adequate to apprise the department of the 
nature and amount of the item. 

 

 The Taxpayer argues that the Alabama 25 percent omission statute is 

modeled after its federal counterpart, 26 U.S.C. §6501(e), and consequently, that 



federal case law should control, citing, State, Dept. of Revenue v. Robertson, 733 

So.2d 397 (Ala.Civ.App. 1998), and Best v. State, Dept. of Revenue, 417 So.2d 

197 (Ala.Civ.App. 1981).  The federal 25 percent omission statute applies only if a 

taxpayer fails to report some taxable item on the return.  It does not apply if a 

taxpayer only overclaims a deduction or makes a computation error on the return.   

 The leading federal case on point is Colony, Inc. v. Commissioner of 

Revenue, 78 S.Ct. 1119 (1958).  In Colony, the taxpayer understated its profit on 

the sale of real estate by overstating its basis in the property.  The U.S. Supreme 

Court held that the 25 percent omission statute did not apply because the 

underreporting of basis was not an omission of a taxable item, as required by the 

statute. 
We think that in enacting §275(c) (the predecessor to §6501(e)) 
Congress manifested no broader purpose than to give the 
Commissioner an additional two years to investigate tax returns in 
cases where, because of a taxpayer’s omission to report some 
taxable item, the Commissioner is at a special disadvantage in 
detecting errors.  In such instances the return on its face provides no 
clue to the existence of the omitted item.  On the other hand, when, as 
here, the understatement of a tax arises from an error in reporting an 
item disclosed on the face of the return the Commissioner is at no 
such disadvantage.  

 
Colony, 78 S.Ct. at 1124. 
 

 Likewise, in Phoenix Electronics v. U.S., 164 F.Supp. 614 (1958), the court 

cited Colony in holding that the overclaiming of a deduction is not an omission from 

income within the meaning of (§6501(e)). 

 The Department concedes that the federal statute applies only if a taxable 

item is omitted from a return, but argues that the language of the Alabama statute is 

much broader than the federal statute.  Specifically, the Department claims that by 

defining “taxable base” to include “other amounts on which the tax paid with the 

return is computed,” the Alabama statute is sufficiently broad to include an 



erroneously claimed deduction or any other amount necessary to compute the tax 

paid with the return.  The Department thus argues that the Taxpayer’s 

underreporting of nonbusiness interest expense, which is an amount necessary in 

computing the Taxpayer’s apportionable business income, was an omission 

pursuant to the statute.1  See, Department’s Reply Brief at 2,3.    

 Before 1992, each tax administered by the Revenue Department had a 

separate statute of limitations for assessing the tax.  For income tax purposes, 

Code of Ala. 1975, §40-18-45(a) provided a general three year statute.  It also 

contained a five year statute “if the taxpayer omits from the gross income reported 

on said return . . . an amount which is in excess of 25 percent of the amount of gross 

income so reported on said return.”  That provision was enacted in 1951 (Acts 

1951, No. 826, p. 1457, §2), and was clearly modeled after the federal 25 percent 

omission statute in effect at the time, §275(c), IRC 1939.  The Alabama and federal 

statutes both referred to an omission from “gross income,” and both allowed the 

same extended five year statute.2 

 By Act 92-186 in 1992, the Alabama Legislature repealed §40-18-45(a) and 

the  other statutes of limitation in the Alabama Revenue Code relating to the 
                                                                 
1The beginning figure on the Alabama corporate income tax return is federal net 
income, from which total interest expense has already been deducted.  Certain 
adjustments are then required to arrive at income apportionable to Alabama.  
Because only business income is apportionable, only business-related interest 
expense should be deducted in arriving at apportionable business income.  
Consequently, nonbusiness-related interest previously deducted in arriving at 
federal net income must be added back to apportionable income.  Thus, if a 
taxpayer understates nonbusiness interest expense on a return, as the Department 
claims the Taxpayer did in this case, an insufficient amount is added back, which 
results in the underreporting of apportionable income.  See generally, Alco 
Standard Corp. v. State of Alabama, Inc. 94-355 (Admin. Law Div. 6/25/97).   

2The federal statute was extended to six years with the enactment of §6501(e) in 
1954.  As discussed below, the Alabama statute was also extended to six years in 
1992. 



assessment of taxes, and simultaneously enacted a “unified” statute of limitations, 

§40-2A-7(b)(2), for all taxes administered by the Department.  Section 40-2A-

7(b)(2)b. provided a six year statute (conforming to the post-1954 six year federal 

statute) if a return omitted more than 25 percent of the “correct amount of tax 

required to be shown on said return.”    

 The 1992 Act tied the 25 percent omission statute to the underreporting or 

omission of tax so that it would apply to all taxes administered by the Department, 

not just income tax.  Under the broad 1992 version of the statute, it was irrelevant 

whether the underreported tax resulted from omitted income, an overstated 

deduction, or any other reporting mistake or omission by the taxpayer.  This was 

illustrated in Nappier v. State of Alabama, Inc. 95-366 (Admin. Law Div. 2/13/96).   

 In Nappier, the Department disallowed certain automobile expenses claimed 

by the taxpayers, which increased their tax liability for the subject years by more than 

25 percent.  The Department assessed the taxpayers outside the general three year 

statute, but within the special six year statute. The Administrative Law Division held 

that although the overreporting of the automobile expenses did not constitute an 

omission of income pursuant to the federal statute, it did result in a 25 percent 

omission of the correct tax due, as required to trigger the 1992 Alabama statute.  

The assessments were accordingly affirmed. 

 The Alabama Legislature was apparently displeased with the 1992 statute 

because it substantially amended §40-2A-7(b)(2)b. in 1995.  The 1995 amendment 

was clearly an attempt by the Legislature to again model the provision after its 

federal counterpart at §6501(e). The operative language in the Alabama statute - “if 

the taxpayer omits from the taxable base an amount properly includable therein 

which is in excess of 25 percent of the amount of the taxable base stated in the 

return” - is identical to the language in §6501(e)(1)(A), except “taxable base” is 

substituted for “gross income.”  Section 40-2A-7(b)(2)b.2. also mirrors the  



language of §6501(e)(1)(A)(ii), except again “taxable base” is substituted for “gross 

income” and also “the department” is substituted for “Secretary.”  

  The Legislature used the generic term “taxable base” so that the 25 percent 

omission statute would apply to all taxes administered by the Department.  The term 

clearly refers to that amount on which each particular tax is based.  For example, 

“gross income” clearly relates to income tax.  Consequently, for income tax 

purposes, a taxpayer’s taxable base is gross income, the same as under the 

corresponding federal statute.  Likewise, “gross proceeds of sales” is the taxable 

base for sales and use tax purposes; “gross receipts” is the taxable base for the 

gross receipts “sales” tax on public places of amusement; and “capital employed” 

was the taxable base for the defunct foreign 



franchise tax. 

 The “other amounts” language relied on by the Department does not provide 

an alternative or expanded definition of “taxable base.”  Rather, it is only part of a 

catchall phrase intended to apply the six year statute to all other taxes administered 

by the Department that are based on some “other amounts” other than those 

amounts, i.e. gross income, gross proceeds of sales, etc., specifically listed in the 

statute.  For example, the gasoline tax, motor fuel tax, and lubricating oils tax levied 

in Chapter 17 of Title 40 are computed on a per gallon basis.  The oil and gas 

severance tax levied at Code of Ala. 1975, §40-20-2 is computed on the “gross 

value of said oil and gas at the point of production.”  In the above examples, the 

gallons or gross value required to be reported on a return are the “other amounts” to 

which the phrase in dispute is referring.   

 In summary, the current version of §40-2A-7(b)(2)b. is modeled after federal 

§6501(e), and should be interpreted accordingly.  Robertson, supra; Best, supra.  

Consequently, for Alabama income tax purposes, the statute applies only if a 

taxpayer omits from gross income more than 25 percent of the amount that should 

have been reported, the same as under federal law.  The “other amounts” clause in 

§40-2A-7(b)(2)b.1. does not enlarge the scope of the provision to include an 

erroneously claimed deduction or the erroneous omission or reporting of any other 

amount on a return.  Rather, it was only intended to make the statute applicable to all 

taxes measured by “other amounts” other than those listed in the statute. 

 Applying the above interpretation to this case, the Taxpayer’s failure to 

properly report nonbusiness interest expense was not an omission from the taxable 

base within the scope of §40-2A-7(b)(2)b.  Rather, it was “an error in reporting an 

item disclosed on the face of the return,” which the U.S. Supreme Court has stated 

is not an omission under the statute.  Colony, 78 S.Ct. at 1124.  Consequently, it is 

irrelevant whether the amount was disclosed on the Taxpayer’s return in a manner 



adequate to notify the Department of the nature and amount of the item, see §40-

2A-7(b)(2)b.2. 

 The Taxpayer’s characterization of certain dividends as nonbusiness 

income, and the exclusion of those dividends from apportionable income, could be 

considered an omission of gross income.  However, the Taxpayer reported the 

dividends as nonbusiness income on its returns.  The “omitted” amounts were thus 

sufficiently disclosed on the returns to put the Department on notice within the 

purview of §40-2A-7(b)(2)b.2.  Consequently, the amounts cannot be considered as 

having been omitted from the returns.3 

 The misreported 1994 property factor also was not an omission within the 

scope of §40-2A-7(b)(2)b. 

 Based on the above, the six year statute does not apply.  Because the 

Department failed to assess the Taxpayer within the applicable three year statute, 

the final assessment is dismissed.  

 This Final Order may be appealed to circuit court within 30 days pursuant to 

Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-9(g). 

      Entered March 15, 2002. 
     

                                                                 
3The Department apparently concedes that the nonbusiness dividends were 
disclosed on the Taxpayer’s returns.  It only argued in its Reply Brief, at pages 3-7, 
that there was not sufficient disclosure concerning the nonbusiness interest 
expense.  As discussed, that issue is moot. 


